A walk through Kington and across Hergest Ridge

I think some day I want to be the writer or photographer behind one of the “50 best walks in the UK” or “Britain’s Greatest Rambles” -type books I keep seeing. I’ve already talked about how much I love the British walking spirit. I’m actually disappointed in myself for how little walking I’ve done since arriving at Brook Farm, but a few weeks ago Dave and I joined our cousin Jonathan and a Kington walking group for a lovely, foggy walk around the village of Kington, in Herefordshire, and then a jaunt across Hergest Ridge Common. As per usual with Jonathan, what was intended to be a 90-minute walk turned into a four and a half hour trek. But the fog burned off while we were on the ridge, and we got some gorgeous views of Herefordshire and Wales, as well as an up-close encounter with some wild horses.

Jonathan's neighbor, Blunders, accompanied by his dog Buster, leads the Kington walking club each week.

Jonathan’s neighbor, Blunders, accompanied by his dog Buster, leads the Kington walking club each week.

Crossing into Hergest Croft Gardens

Crossing into Hergest Croft Gardens

There were nearly as many dogs as people in our group, and this little one was ready for adventure.

There were nearly as many dogs as people in our group, and this little one was ready for adventure.

Jonathan always gives me a silly face.

Jonathan always gives me a silly face.

Autumn colors

Autumn colors

 

 

 

 

 

 

Blunders mans the gate.

Blunders mans the gate.

There are leaves on my boots

There are leaves on my boots

Bye for now!

Bye for now!

 

 

 

 

 

 

We have arrived on Hergest Ridge Common

We have arrived on Hergest Ridge Common

That's Wales over there

That’s Wales over there

What Jonathan calls the "monkey puzzle trees"

What Jonathan calls the “monkey puzzle trees”

Sheep!

Sheep!

 

 

 

 

 

More gorgeous views

More gorgeous views from the ridge

These lovelies were the highlight of my walk

These lovelies were the highlight of my walk

This one walked right up to my face

This one walked right up to my face

Reflections

Reflections

 

 

 

 

Sheep and scenery

Sheep and scenery

 

 

 

Men bonding with nature

Men bonding with nature

The sun finally started to burn through the fog

The sun finally started to burn through the fog

I asked Dave and Jonathan to stand there so I could fix my settings for Jonathan to take a photo. They got carried away.

I asked Dave and Jonathan to stand there so I could fix my settings for Jonathan to take a photo. They got carried away.

Cuzzles

Cuzzles

Hey, proof I was there too!

Hey, proof I was there too!

We found dinner while we were out.

We found dinner while we were out.

Andddd more sheep. One day they won't interest me anymore.

Andddd more sheep. One day they won’t interest me anymore.

Four hours in...

Four hours in…

Beautiful.

Beautiful.

One thought on “A walk through Kington and across Hergest Ridge

  1. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article.
    I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.

Leave a Reply

